random

Bourbon and Church.

Kentucky loves their bourbon. And beer. And wine too, I suppose. In a span of twenty-four hours over the weekend, we visited a brewery, a distillery, and a winery! Oh, Kentucky. We were unable to tour the bourbon distillery, but hope to head back as we tackle the Kentucky Bourbon Trail in the future. Otherwise, we’ve been exploring different small towns (and falling more in love with the area, one road at a time), moving the ducks into a new ‘home’, cleaning up the land a bit, hanging out with the horses (as usual), and enjoying the quiet out here. We’ve also had to bury a dog (Kyle helped a neighbor out with her dog too) — that was sad, but such is life. With all the animals around, things like that are bound to happen. A sneaky fox steals ducks on occasion, and raccoons have stolen a couple turtles. At least I’ve got a little duckling following me around! Oh, and that rooster. He’s a character.

We also found a church, which will be a vital source of grace and community for us. The people are warm and friendly, the community is tight-knit, the pastor is not afraid to address serious issues, and there are plenty of ways for us to grow & connect through volunteering, small groups, and worship. I’m excited.

Oh, there is an Amish community here! I’m not quite sure where their homes are, but one of my favorite grocery stores is a little Amish-owned store north of town. They come to town occasionally to sell goods and shop. It still throws me off when I see an Amish woman pushing a cart around at Walmart. In the past year, I have been reading a lot about the Amish simple way of life and feeling very inspired to incorporate some of their wisdom and methods into my own life. (I may expand on this in a later post.)

The residents we talk to seem so shocked that we moved from Chicago and usually remark with, “Wow, what a big difference!” Yep. That’s why we are here: to live life with an adventure our hearts desire.

I probably have more to write about, but all I want to do is get off this computer and go outside. It’s funny how my priorities have changed in just a couple weeks. Stepping back from what we used to know and considering how we want our future to look has given me some clarity. I won’t stop writing, but my desire to share everything has lessened. I want to be here. Now.

We woke up today to a chilly fifty-degree morning (in July!). I don’t mind – I love layers and hot drinks (is it too early to say that I’m looking forward to fall already?). Our plans for today include more odd jobs around Jordan’s farmstead and a continued search for jobs. We’re also picking up the truck from the shop (the trip out here was a bit much for it). Asking for prayers and luck in our job search! Hope you are well, friends. 

Of course, what’s an update without some photos!?

2 thoughts on “Bourbon and Church.

  1. Glad you have found a new church home already. That is such an important step in putting down roots someplace new. If you want to learn more about the Amish in general, check out Amish America on the internet. It’s run by Erik Wesner, an "English" [not Amish] man, who has written a book or two on the Amish and runs a blog. I think you will find it entertaining and informative as I’ve followed him for the last 2-3 years.

    1. Finding a church was definitely high on our list!I’ll check out Amish America; it sounds interesting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

