random

doorknobs and mornings.

My mornings have not been calm and my soul is weary.

I’ve been waking up (and actually, going to sleep) with terrible headaches in odd places from my widsom tooth extraction. The water in the shower has been cold more often than hot and I’ve barely showered in the past couple months. My husband has been leaving the television on in the mornings more than usual lately; the blue glow from the screen reflects through the entire apartment and makes me cringe. I’ve been lacking vegetables in my diet. My mind has been running on speed for days. I’ve barely journaled. I’ve been skipping coffee (which, health-wise, isn’t a bad thing). And as much as I love my job, I’ve been sucked into a little bit of drama at work and it’s been challenging — a lesson in picking my words carefully and doing the best I can do. I’m exhausted.

First world problems, I know. Nothing compared to the hardships that millions of others endure on a daily basis. And when I think about that, I kind of feel guilty for wanting to complain. I try to be thankful for everything I have and look for the good in each situation.

And hey, last night we went to Menards and bought cabinet hardware for our RV.

That’s exciting, right? And expensive. Handles and knobs can get quite pricey!

But I’m still exhausted.

So this morning, I lit a candle and prayed for strength. Wisdom. Relief.  R e l e a s e . . .

“Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” –Matthew 11:29-30

Leave a Reply

