random

the year of: release.

I don’t do resolutions. I have a love/hate relationship with goals. But I do like words. Last year, my word of the year was “light.” I aimed to live lightly in more ways than one. It was a wonderful year full of light. This year, I thought my word would be “embrace.” Then, as I was writing up my last post, I realized that “embrace” was the wrong word. It needs to be “release.”

My word for 2014 is: RELEASE. For me, release is:

  1. escape from confinement
  2. allowing to flow freely
  3. letting go
  4. being relieved of debt or obligation

I’ll also look at it as surrender, liberation, and being available.

I need to release myself from invisible obligations, possessions, shreds of perfection, and any other chains holding me back from moving forward and breathing. I need to release myself from debt (yep, working on paying off the small debt we accumulated last year). And I need to release myself to Him. I have such a hard time letting go of control. With all the changes coming up this year, ‘release’ will be a good word to accompany them and help me grow.

Did you have a word last year? How did it go? Do you have a word this year? Please share! 🙂

2 thoughts on “the year of: release.

Leave a Reply

