random

November Goals.

20131101-144557.jpg
October was a lovely and crazy. The first couple weeks were wonderfully autumn-y with nature walks, warm drinks, haunted houses, and celebrations. The last couple weeks were weird. I was sick. Kyle was sick. Our cats were sick. Our bearded dragon was sick. So were all the people we work with. Temperatures dropped, snow fell, and my pumpkins still haven’t been carved yet. I guess I can do that over the weekend. And sleep an extra hour.

My goals for October were:

  • Let go. Success! I didn’t worry about ‘things I had to do’ or ‘rules.’
  • Hold on. Success! Somewhat. Still wish I could see family more.
  • Enjoy lifeSuccess! I enjoyed what I could.

In November, I will:

Write something each day.  November marks NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). I won’t be working on a novel, but in the spirit of this month, I’d like to write something each day — whether it be a restaurant review, a blog post, an article, or whatever. I just need to write.

Work on holiday cards and gifts.  I’d really like to send out holiday cards this year and make more handmade gifts. By focusing on these now, I won’t feel rushed when December rolls around.

Avoid social networks. I’m starting to feel overwhelmed and disconnected. So, I’m doing part of my end-of-the-year digital sabbatical a bit early this year. Facebook, Instagram, and Pinterest? Not logging in. Spending time looking at things on my phone? Not doing that. I’ll still be writing reviews and blog posts, checking email (only on my computer), and staying in touch with people through phone calls and texts. I just need to detach from my phone and social networks. This month is for family, friends, rest, cozy meals at home, knitting projects, writing, diving into books, and being thankful for all the blessings I have.

How does November look for you?

Leave a Reply

