random

setting some goals for April.

20130402-172031.jpg
I love making lists and crossing things off.

I don’t love it when my lists remain for days, months, weeks, without items crossed off.

20130402-195101.jpgThat said, I’m not really the kind of person that likes to write out my goals. My main goal is just live each day. From this general goal, little goals happen – mainly centered around relationships, mental & physical health, and daily happiness. They float around in my head. A few months ago, I decided to write a few of them down on some lame rainbow watercolor. I haven’t been able to stick with all of them. My issue is that I have too many little goals and feel like a failure every time I don’t follow through with them. I even broke up with my life list nearly two years ago because I was tired of reading goals that hadn’t been accomplished yet.

Instead of thinking about all the hooping, yoga, eating, drinking, writing, oiling, reading, praying, meeting, dating (my husband, duh!), cleaning, living, traveling, and creative goals that dance in my head, I’ll focus on a few. Jennifer and Khrista inspired me to start setting small monthly goals for myself. (OK, I know plenty of people do this, but their beautiful handwriting and images might have been the extra push I needed.) It is said that it takes twenty-one days for something to become a habit. I am hoping that focusing on a few each month will eventually lead me to easily accomplishing them all on a regular basis.

I know the goals I picked for this month are kind of easy; I’m hoping that accomplishing them will encourage me to push and stretch myself in the months to come. I also feel like my goals are kind of selfish (they focus on bettering myself) so I’ll have more relational goals later, too!

So here are my goals for April:

Wake up earlier in the morning. Half of the time, I’m pretty good about waking up two hours before I have to be at work. The two hours allows me plenty of time to wash up, prepare food, eat, read, write, look out the window, etc. Yet, some days…. I sleep in and get up with just enough time to dress and throw some random food in a bag for lunch. I’d like to wake up early every day, maybe even earlier than the early days. Waking up early will allow me to accomplish the rest of my goals, too.

Read 8 good books this month. I’ve already read 28 books since January 1st, so I don’t think this will be a problem. However, I’d like to read 8 books that really speak to me, not just my book club reads and whatever catches my eye on the shelf at the library.

Drink at least one green juice or green smoothie a day. I love juicing and making smoothies – I think they are an amazing way to get loads of fruits and veggies in your body. Yet, I don’t drink them as often as I’d like. I need to be more consistent. If I can get at least one juice or smoothie in my body a day — then that will push me towards a cleaner diet. I usually have juices in the morning (I had a kale/broccoli/romaine/apple/celery/lemon juice yesterday morning), but if I am short on ingredients or time, I tend to skip. I skipped this morning but managed to make a banana/pineapple/spinach/orange smoothie after work today. Yum!

Find time to journal every day. Preferably in the mornings. Although I follow a daily bible reading plan of some sort (I love She Reads Truth), I don’t take the time to journal every day. Often, I read through a devotion and meditate for a few moments, but neglect to put pen to paper. Of course, journaling doesn’t just have to apply to bible readings. It can be anything.

Ride my bike at least three times a week. I have a beautiful new toy! I need to take her out! I’m still waiting for good weather (it dropped back into the thirties this week) so it really depends on weather. I’m not yet willing to embrace rain and cold. I don’t care if it’s a five-minute ride or a thirty-minute ride: I just need to get out on the bike three times a week.

What are your goals for April?

One thought on “setting some goals for April.

Leave a Reply

