random

Adjusting My People Priorities To Give More At Home.

While spending some quiet time reading this morning, these words jumped out at me:

“Don’t give away to others what you have not first given away at home.”
-pg. 147 in A Woman After God’s Own Heart

The author stated this after sharing a story about making a beautiful meal for a person in the hospital but giving hot dogs and mac & cheese to her family at home. She realized she was laboring out of love for others, but not giving her family priority. They were getting the leftovers. She vowed to make the beautiful meals for her family first from now on, and then share them with others. It doesn’t just apply to food — but also time, words, and actions.

I realized I give away to others without giving at home first. I share words and commit acts of love to friends and strangers on a daily basis. I love doing so — it fills my soul. My family members receive love from me, but they don’t receive it nearly as much as the friends and strangers in my life. My husband is on the receiving end of angry words. My family hears all my frustrations. They need love. More love. My husband needs kinder words and hugs. My parents still need me to reach out and create coffee dates with them instead of just filling in whatever time I have left. I need to change this.

Tonight, I’m hanging out with my in-laws as part of a monthly gathering at my husband’s grandmother’s house. In the next couple days, I want to see my parents. They don’t live far, and yet I rarely see them. I don’t want to go a whole month before seeing my parents again.

2 thoughts on “Adjusting My People Priorities To Give More At Home.

    1. So very true. I think it applies to a lot of people. We often put our best forward at work and socially that we forget those at home need the same effort!

Leave a Reply

