happiness

A Month Offline For a Month To Myself.

Novembers and Decembers always have me reflecting on the past year — who I’ve become and what I’ve accomplished. Along with that, I always think about who I want to become and what I want to accomplish. It’s not that I want to become someone else. I want to be me. I am still trying to figure out who me is. I’m slowly finding out. This past Thanksgiving holiday, I had five days to myself — plenty of time to explore myself and my values as I reflected on where I am right now. I realized I drifted away from some of my values this year; yet, I also came to realize which values were strong for me.

Last year (during yet another warm December — today is 60 degrees), I wrote a similar post that outlined my goal for 2012: to make conscious decisions and live each day well. I cannot say that I was a complete success, but my life is so much more breathable now. I spent 2011 simplifying my life. 2012 was a year focused on building a lovely relationship with my husband, strong friendships with other people in my life, and putting God at the center of everything. My health goals fell to the side, as well as tiny house. Focusing on better health and a tiny house (or potentially an RV) is definitely a priority for 2013, as well as developing and maintaining strong relationships while living a conscious, simplified life.

I’m taking a month offline in December. This will be my month to log on to myself. A month to read, to hoop, to knit, to write, to meditate, to study the bible, to take photos, to wander, to master that darn country line dance in the latest Footloose movie, and to clean (my parents just made me take a bunch of my childhood things back to my apartment and needless to say, it’s all stuff that takes up too much room). A month off to focus on cleansing myself. Mind. Body. Soul.  I’m coming back in January with a lighter load, clearer mind, revived passion, and more specific vision for my life.

I want to live my life with no regrets from here on out. I don’t want to put my dreams and goals off any longer. I will not wake up thirty years later and say to myself, “I wish I had done that instead.” I’d rather say, “I can’t believe I did that!” How you spend your days is how you spend your life. My life is right now.

I’m not completely disappearing this month. I will still accept and respond to phone calls and text messages. Emails will be checked on my computer once in the afternoon, weekdays only. I’ll still take photos on my phone camera. I’m not quite sure if I will be sharing those or not (*cough*Instagram*cough*). The time spent away from the screen will give me the peace that I need to be strong and on fire for the next chapter of my life. I don’t think I’ve ever been as excited for my future as I am now!

Much love to you. You mean so much to me. May you find moments of peace in the holidays and end-of-the-year festivities. May your heart cherish what really matters in life. May you have abundant laughter and unconditional love. May you find time to breathe.

4 thoughts on “A Month Offline For a Month To Myself.

    1. Thank you! I am feeling changes within me and discovering how to place more beautiful, happy things in my every day life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

