random

the comfort of failure.

I don’t like to fail. It causes me to feel disappointment with my self, makes me want to give up, and encourages me to run away from whatever I was trying. I bet you feel the same way. After all, who strives to fail? Not many of us.

Remember in January when I said I wasn’t buying any new stuff this year? I kept track of my expenses each month since then and watched the amount of money in my account grow. Yet, I failed. I still ate out way more than I should have, and I still ended up buying a few new things. It wasn’t so bad until May came around. May was the worst month for me — I spent more than I earned that month. Some of the expenses were practical, but some of they were not. So because of this, I feel like I failed.

Yet, what this little experiment did for me was show me exactly where my money was going. I always balanced my checkbook, but having everything right in front of me with the category (gas, clothes, food) helped me understand my habits and where I really needed to cut back. I also disciplined myself a lot more than I would have if I didn’t have the goal in mind. I consider that a success, and will be applying that knowledge to the rest of the year (yes, I still plan to attempt avoiding new purchases, etc).

As cliche as it may sound, the reason I enjoy failing is simply this:

you learn so much from it.

If Henry Ford gave up after his first car company failed, we may not drive cars today. If Harland Sanders gave up after the first five restaurants said no to his chicken recipe, then we may not have Kentucky Fried Chicken today. If Jerry Seinfeld walked away from comedy after being booed off his first stage, we would not have enjoyed his jokes today. If Theodore Giesel stopped writing after his first rejection, we would have a world without Dr. Suess! You get the drift.

So let this is a reminder to myself, and for you.

Next time you feel like you’ve failed at something, take a look at what happened, ask how you could have done differently, and learn from it! When you embrace failure as something comforting, it is much easier to bounce back from it.

Leave a Reply

