random

You Are Exactly Where You Need To Be.

There are times I regret nearly every purchase I made in the past five years. I think about all the meals out, candy bars, curtains and household decorations, gifts, long car trips and the gas they required, books, DVDs, clothes, and other assorted objects. None of that really mattered. I earned thousands of dollars in the past few years and have barely any savings to show for it. I spent it all on crap. Sure, I probably had fun and enjoyed all that crap, but if I had adjusted my mindset then, instead of now, I might have a lot more savings. Sometimes I also regret certain choices. Maybe I should have not signed that lease. Maybe I should have majored in something else in college. Perhaps I should have tried harder to go abroad. Maybe I should have made that phone call. Tiny house might already be built. I would have been a world traveler. I wouldn’t be living paycheck to paycheck. Maybe I’d be a published writer. But maybe I wouldn’t know the people I know. Maybe I wouldn’t have my husband. Maybe I wouldn’t have the beautiful life I have now.

Last week, one of my students asked me, “What was the biggest mistake you made in your life?” I immediately thought of something that might be a good answer, and then I realized that thing wasn’t a mistake at all! That one mistake led me to build my confidence and eventually bring me to my wonderful husband. I answered, “I don’t believe I’ve really made any mistakes because everything I have done has made me who I am and brought me to where I am today.” Of course I have made mistakes. We all have. Yet, without these ‘mistakes,’ things would not have happened they way they did. Lessons would not have been learned. We might be somewhere else instead of right here, right now, which is exactly where we need to be.

That’s the beauty of mistakes. Everything you have done has led to you this place. Forget the regrets, without the choices you made, you wouldn’t be you. So all those regrets you have? Do something about them or just forget them. Move on. Focus on learning from them and improving your life starting right now. Yesterday is gone, today is all you need.

I am so incredibly thankful for all the mistakes I’ve made. I have learned from them and am in love with the life I have today. I am looking forward to creating and discovering the life I will have tomorrow. I hope you feel the same way.

5 thoughts on “You Are Exactly Where You Need To Be.

  1. YO Laura!

    Reminds me of a quote I like to ponder every now and then-

    Failure changes for the better, success for the worse. ~Lucius Annaeus Seneca

    And then of course there’s…

    All men make mistakes, but married men find out about them sooner – Red Skelton

    Cheers and have a good week!!

    The Dude

  2. I absolutely love this, Laura. I myself have struggled with many of the same questions as you: Why didn’t I major in something else in college? Why did I waste my time in an awful relationship for so long? Why did I move to Colorado for 4 months and then move right back? etc. etc. And then the more I think about those questions, I can see exactly where God’s hand was in every situation along that way that brought me exactly where I am today. It gives me chills just thinking about it. There’s no such thing as coincidence. Not sure if you’re a spiritual person, but I honestly believe He works everything for the good of those who love Him. Anyway, thanks for sharing 🙂

    -alysha

    1. Thank you for sharing, as well. I am glad you are able to understand and embrace why everything has happened for you the way it has. I am somewhat of a spiritual person, so I understand what you’re saying. Nothing is a coincidence. 🙂

Leave a Reply

