faith

love and grace.

I’m currently reading Rumors of God by Darren Whitehead and Jon Tyson. Whitehead is one of the teaching pastors at my church and I had the pleasure of hearing Tyson speak at my church and a three-day retreat. When Tyson spoke, I felt like he was speaking directly to me. Never have I completely agreed, related, and understood a pastor as much as him. This book reaches out to me even more. I feel like it was written just for me.
What really struck me was one of the stories they shared in which a protester yelled out at a Christian group, ”Aren’t you supposed to be defined by love? Where is your grace?”

“Aren’t you supposed to be defined by love? Where is your grace?”

I wholeheartedly agree with this statement. One of the things I struggle with as someone who is trying to grow as a Christian, is the reputation that much hatred within the religion has built up. I know that Jesus wants us to love others as they are without judgement. This is how I want to live. This is what I believe. Yet, many of my non-Christian friends abhor religion because of the negativity that conservative Christians have brought upon certain members of society. They are all about the fire and brimstone, not the love and light. Too many people have stood on street corners, preaching hell instead of preaching love. I can understand why this would scare people away. It made me turn away, too. Years later, I was finally exposed to the light and love of God. My heart turned around. I only wish my friends could do the same. I guess I just have to pray for them and continue to show them light and love.

Leave a Reply

