random

a brief winter solstice reflection.

Winter solstice. Shortest day of the year and first day of winter.

I don’t know about you, but here in the Chicago area, it’s been a mild December. It snowed one night but melted away quickly in rainy weather. I enjoy this because I feel like cold weather is pointless without snow but it’s December! It needs to be cold and snowy. Why isn’t it cold? Global warming. Global warming because of us. Sigh.

Since I work in a school, I’m on winter break for two weeks. It’s been three days so far of unplanned nothingness. I’m enjoying it — more time to read, create handmade holiday gifts, cook, and plan outings with friends. At the same time, it’s so weird having a huge chunk of unstructured time. This feeling hits me every year and I’m left with a yearning to write even if I feel like I have nothing to write about. So that’s what today’s post is: a short rambling.

I’ve been reflecting a lot on how much my life has changed for me this past year. I focused on simplifying my life by removing most of my belongings, experimenting with a smaller closet, and opening up my schedule to create time for self-nourishment, simple pleasures, and relationships. I played with my digital self and decided to opt out of most social networking with the exception of Twitter (I love how I can control my stream and follow or unfollow whomever I want with no hard feelings). I also got married, and although at times it feels like nothing has really changed in our relationship, so much has. Because of this marriage, I felt a huge shift inside of me: my life is not just for me anymore, it’s about us.

In the last month, I’ve seen a huge shift into what I feel my focus will be next year: taking better care of my body, working on my marriage, and slowly building our tiny home. I don’t have new year’s resolutions. I think they’re rather silly. If I want to change something in my life, I work on it right away, not when a specific day rolls around. I’m also tired of having goals. Goals just feel like a never-ending to-do list. So I just have one aim for 2012: to make conscious decisions and live each day well.

Again, it’s the shortest day of the year. What are you doing to make the most of your hours today? I’m looking forward to an evening in downtown Chicago. It may be the last time I go downtown. Who knows?

One thought on “a brief winter solstice reflection.

Leave a Reply

