healthy eating & recipes

crazy sexy.

For quite some time now, I’ve considered switching to a vegan diet. I did a 30-day vegan challenge this past summer; it was very difficult because I didn’t feel well-prepared. I didn’t have all the essentials in my kitchen, I didn’t let my other half know ahead of time, I felt like I had very little time to cook, and I felt like I was inconveniencing everyone around me. Then last week, a copy of Kris Carr’s Crazy Sexy Diet made it into my hands and I’ve been hooked. When diagnosed with cancer, she decided to turn her life around, dump the toxic food she was eating, and put healthy stuff in her body. Kris Carr inspires me. If she can do this, I can do it! I want to drink warm water with lemon, make green smoothies, spend time outdoors on a daily basis, and remove all animal products from my diet. I want to be healthy. Just because I’m thin doesn’t mean I’m healthy. I snack on junk food constantly. I am out of shape. I love yoga but can’t seem to stick with it. I don’t give myself enough rest. It’s time to turn that around. It’s time to really make a commitment.

In the past few months, I’ve done a lot of reading to mentally prepare myself better. I want to feel comfortable before diving into veganism entirely. I’ve made the occasional vegan meal. I’ve slowly been eliminating eggs and ice cream from my diet. I have considered how to accommodate myself for my meat-eating husband. I have also been waking up earlier to mediate and relax before starting my day. I feel ready now.  In the last chapter of Crazy Sexy Diet, Kris Carr gives a loving and nourishing 21-day cleanse plan accompanied with recipes, tips, personal mantras, and other things you can do to improve the quality of your life. Her guide really reaches out to me and makes me confident that I can do this. 

Starting tomorrow, December 4, 2011, I’m diving into a 21-day cleanse.

Yes. Tomorrow. In December. In the middle of a crazy month filled with endless cookies and holiday parties. I’m crazy for doing this, I know. But why wait?  The sooner I start, the sooner my body restores itself. If I put it off, I may never get around to it. Plus, this will give me a great excuse to cook up some delicious vegan holiday treats!

I spent a few hours today shopping around for some of the essentials (a variety of veggies, fruits, brown rice, seeds, hummus, agave, etc.) and preparing my kitchen for a transformation. I also bought some healthy snacks to bring to work so I’m not tempted by the peanut M&Ms and cakes my coworkers like to share during the day. My biggest challenges going into this cleanse will be resisting the temptations at work and cooking vegan meals at home that are pleasing to my husband. I also do not have a juicer and will be drinking green smoothies in lieu of green juices.

Tonight, I’m watching a holiday movie with my husband and getting eight hours of sleep! I’m praying I will be successful with this cleanse.

One thought on “crazy sexy.

Leave a Reply

