random

Saying Goodbye To My Life List.

Yep. You read that right. I’m breaking up with my life list.

My life list showed what I wanted to do in my life, what I had done, and what I was working on. I looked at it often to relish some of my accomplishments while planning for future ones. I shared it with others to initiate conversation. I relied on it to remind myself to do something.

I was inspired by others to create my life list and my list has inspired other people to create their own. But lately? I feel a little sad when I look at it. The same things have been crossed off for months. The same things are left undone. The things left undone will not happen anytime soon. I don’t even care if I do some of those things anymore and other things I’d like to do now are not on that list. It’s ever-changing.  All I see when I look at the physical list is a giant to-do list. It overwhelms me because it never goes away. I don’t want that feeling. I need to make it go away.

If I really want to do something, I will remember it. I don’t need it written out. Compiling a list of exotic things to do and crossing things off will not make my life any more interesting. The quality of my life does not depend on how many things I do; it depends on how I live. It depends on how I treat others. It depends on how I treat myself. It depends on what I do and say in my daily interactions. It depends on each moment.

I only have one main goal now: to live each day.

4 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye To My Life List.

  1. Maybe it’s time to declare life list bankruptcy? Clear out the list, but try to build it back up. I do this with my todo list every so often. The theory being, “if I was able to ignore it for this long, is it going to kill me to just forget about it.”

    Or maybe those big items that are being stubborn need to turn into smaller steps?

    1. I like your idea, and I agree with your theory/thought process. Breaking down the bigger items into small steps is a good solution too! I’ve taken down my list for now and intend to keep it down (I feel a weight lifted off my shoulder already), but if I create the list again, I’ll break it into smaller steps. That’s how most goals should be approached, anyway. Thank you for your input!

    2. I like your idea, and I agree with your theory/thought process. Breaking down the bigger items into small steps is a good solution too! I’ve taken down my list for now and intend to keep it down (I feel a weight lifted off my shoulder already), but if I create the list again, I’ll break it into smaller steps. That’s how most goals should be approached, anyway. Thank you for your input!

Leave a Reply

