minimalism

Changing the Wardrobe: Transitioning From Round 2 to Round 3 of Project 333!

Round 2 of Project 333 is over. Round 3 begins today.

How did I do in the last month? Well, I cheated a little bit. Here’s how:

Horton Hears A Who!
March 2nd was Dr. Seuss’ birthday. I remembered that one of my items in storage was a zip-up Horton Hears A Who! hoodie. I knew the staff and students at work would love it so I pulled it out and wore it for his birthday. It was a hit! I put it back when I was done. That hoodie is also the only hoodie I have now, after I streamlined my wardrobe a few months ago and donated the others – so I was OK using it.

New Scarf.
One of my dear coworkers gifted me a lovely off-white, lacy scarf that I love and have been wearing instead of the green scarf originally on the list. Ironically, the green scarf was also a gift from a previous co-worker. Perhaps it’s a symbol of transition?

New Shoes!
This is the first pair of shoes I have bought myself in the last two years and I’m pretty darn excited about them. They’re a pair of super-comfy black flats that go well with anything. I didn’t like the black heels I had on my list – uncomfortable, and I needed something without heels. I went out shopping with a goal of finding a pair of flats and fell in love with one. I’ve been wearing these for the past two weeks in lieu of the black heels.

Other than those few steps off the path, the last three months went by well!

As for the next three?

This might be difficult for me. The first two months will be significantly different than the last two months. I need to dress professionally in April and May. Once June rolls around, I’ll be spending most of my time outdoors (including a week-long sleep-away camp that I am beyond excited about!). Most of the items I wear in April and May won’t be worn during June. I need to find a balance between professional and unprofessional clothes. I also have a few clothing items that I love but packed up because they could not be worn as more than one outfit: my favorite multicolored striped dress pants and a flattering, vintage skirt – just to name a couple. If I had the money, I would buy a few things to match my favorite pieces of clothing, but I have to make do with what I have, which I’ve been doing for years anyway.

Here’s my list of clothing for the next three months:

1. Purple dress
2. Pink dress
3. Black and gray dress
4. Light gray button-up dress
5. Gray cardigan*
6. Gray long-sleeved shirt
7. Green sweatshirt
8. Plaid shirt*
9. White t-shirt*
10. Fuchsia tank top
11. White tank top*
12. Black tank top*
13. Pink tank top
14. Axis t-shirt*
15. Plain white t-shirt*
16. Fuchsia t-shirt
17. Gray t-shirt
18. Green t-shirt*
19. Brown t-shirt*
20. Woodstock t-shirt
21. Dark blue jeans*
22. Gray skinny jeans*
23. Light blue jeans*
24. Black dress pants*
25. Light gray dress pants
26. Black dress Bermuda shorts
27 Denim Bermuda shorts
28. Black leggings
29. Black flats
30. Black Converse All-Stars*
31. Black flip-flops
32. White fashion scarf
33. Black belt

*indicates items staying from Round 2.

Three extra items in closet: dressy sandals, light blue skirt, dressy top.

Items not counted: slippers, pajamas & robe (which doubles as in-home lounge wear), volleyball gear (gym shoes, spandex, shirt), bathing suits, underwear, socks, hearing aids, glasses, jewelry (a couple necklaces, a couple earrings, rings – not that I wear much anyway).

I didn’t include a coat. My sweatshirt or cardigan + scarf will be my outer, warm layer.

OK. Here I go!


Previous posts about Project 333:

Project 333 on December 29, 2010
My Project 333: Phase II Update on January 5, 2011
One Month Into Project 333: Phase II on February 1, 2011
Wait, I’ve been wearing the same few outfits for the two months already? on March 1, 2011

Leave a Reply

