minimalism

Wait, I’ve been wearing the same few outfits for the past two months already?

When I opened my closet a few days ago and selected a shirt to wear, that’s the thought that popped in my head.

“Wait, I’ve been wearing the same few outfits for the past two months already?? Huh. Interesting.”

See, the thing is, I forgot about Project 333.

I forgot about it because now I just do it.

I no longer fret about people looking down on me for wearing the same clothes, week after week. My brain has been wired to believe I don’t own more than five pairs of shoes. My gray cardigan is a staple that is comfortable and goes with anything. I take no time getting ready in the morning. I forgot that I had two bags of clothes in the basement.

Having less clothes is a mindset for me now. It’s not a challenge anymore – it’s comfortable.

And can I tell you how much I love that everything fits in a small closet?

The only major thought that has crossed my mind regarding clothing is that I need new shoes. All the shoes I included in the project are at least two years old. They got some pretty good wear – I wore them almost every day before Project 333 – and are at the point now that I need to toss them out after winter is over. I am a little excited about this. It means that I will have less shoes taking up space in the closet over the summer and when fall rolls around, I can invest in one or two slightly expensive pairs with more thought into what I need, what goes with my clothes and the weather, how I can make the shoes last, and what I don’t need to buy again.

The next month should go pretty smoothly. I can’t wait to see what’s next for Project 333!

And if there isn’t anything, that’s OK. I’m just going to do it on my own.

On another note, it’s March already?! Time speeds up as each day passes…

2 thoughts on “Wait, I’ve been wearing the same few outfits for the past two months already?

  1. Your posts on Project 333 were enjoyable. I am exploring doing a round to help nudge the next season of my minimalism aspirations. I am trying to repair some recent weight gain but trying to not let that get in the way of participating in the project. I hope it will be fruitful in my life.
    Thanks for sharing your experience.

    1. I’ll be coming out with a another post soon as I reflect on this project and prepare for the next round. I’m glad to hear you’re thinking about doing a round! I found this project to be one of the best ways to ease me into a minimalist wardrobe. Don’t let any weight get in your way of participating! Embrace it as a reason for going through your wardrobe. Be creative. I hope you share your experience!

Leave a Reply

