minimalism

What’s Inside My Purse?

Over at The Everyday Minimalist, Serena introduced us to The Minimalist Wallet Series. She opened up her purse and wallet to hundreds of readers and encouraged us to share our wallets and purses with her. Wallets of minimalist bloggers will be shared every Tuesday. I encourage you to go check it out!  Inspired by her post, I decided to share my contents. I’ll be featured in her series in the middle of next year (yes, a lot of people are doing this and booked already!); however, you get a sneak peak of mine!

It is said that you can learn a lot about a woman by looking through her purse.

Here’s what I have:

Contents of main pocket:

  • wallet
  • checkbook
  • hand lotion
  • small comb
  • iPhone
  • hearing aid case (extra batteries inside)
  • book (The Conscious Bride – highly recommended for any bride-to-be!)

Inside zippered pocket of purse:

  • travel toothbrush
  • Diva Cup
  • three bobbypins
  • lip gloss
  • a safety pin
  • perfume (Sample Size)
  • white stone – REV 2.17
  • crystal (gifted by a friend)

Inside my wallet:

  • Driver’s License
  • FOID Card
  • University ID
  • 2 Debit/Credit Cards
  • Health Insurance Cards
  • AAA/Car Insurance Cards
  • Library Cards (two libraries)
  • 4 Starbucks Cards (two were gifted to me last week)
  • Borders Gift Card
  • AMC Moviewatcher Card
  • CTA Pass
  • Free Movie Ticket (I need to use this soon!)
  • Receipts (cleaned out every week or so)
  • Change – assortment of quarters and pennies

I have two purses that I switch back and forth between – a green, hand-made purse by women in Africa and a simple black purse for more formal occasions/business appearances. Sometimes all the contents are in one purse, or sometimes I just pick what I need.

After I took the pictures and complied this list, I realized I forgot to include my keys. Those are usually in my purse (or pocket) too. I usually tend to have a pen, as well, but I don’t know where it disappeared to! When I lived in the city, I carried mace and hand sanitizer. I still have both of them in a drawer somewhere. Contents also change depending on time of year (in the summer – I will also have a pair of sunglasses) or event that I’m going to (a fancy dinner may mean I’ll throw my eyeliner and cover up in the bag too). When I was in college, I rarely carried a purse around because I saw no point. My room was a quick walk away from anything on campus and I rarely left campus. I usually carried just my wallet with entry card/keys (in my back pocket), cell phone (other back pocket), and chapstick (front pocket). It was so freeing. Before college, I never had a purse. My goal is to eventually get it down to the very bare essentials again, as in the picture of my college pocket contents (yes, I still have the wallet and phone).

What’s in your purse?

5 thoughts on “What’s Inside My Purse?

Leave a Reply

