happiness

What Do You Want To Do With Your Life?

“We have different gifts, according to the grace given us. If a man’s gift is prophesying, let him use it in proportion to his[a]faith. If it is serving, let him serve; if it is teaching, let him teach; if it is encouraging, let him encourage; if it is contributing to the needs of others, let him give generously; if it is leadership, let him govern diligently; if it is showing mercy, let him do it cheerfully.” Romans 12:6-8

At some point towards the end of college, I kind of figured out what I wanted to do with my life. This realization came a little bit late in my college career (I was unable to change majors at this point) and I wished I had been able to do these things a lot sooner; but, better late than never.* My volunteering side came out as I joined several organizations senior year of college (one with animals, one with homes, one with teenagers). Once I graduated and landed a job in front of a computer that left me numb at the end of the day, I decided I wanted to pursue this ‘life destination’ more and entered graduate school in the field of special education. It wasn’t until a few months ago when I announced it aloud to my boyfriend that I realized it became my passion. What did I say?

“I want to spend my life helping people.”

If I could quit my job and spend my days and nights volunteering at different organizations and events, while miraculously being able to live comfortably on no income (or maybe I just win the lottery), I would. At the same time, my career choice offers me a great opportunity to spend my time teaching and helping children with extra needs while getting paid to do something I love! Perfect. I am a little bit impatient at the moment and wish I could spend my time volunteering now rather than waiting until graduate school is finished, but my current schedule barely allows me time to breathe, let along time to volunteer on a regular basis. I am looking forward to the end of graduate school for the increase in my time to give back to the community (as well as my teaching certification and degree)!

I feel great when I’ve helped someone smile. I feel great when I help someone breathe easier. I feel great knowing I have a purpose. I feel great knowing I am successful on an almost daily basis. I’d like to end this post with one of my favorite familiar quotes that I try to remember and live by from my favorite Transcendentalist/essayist:

“To laugh often and much; to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; to appreciate beauty; to find the best in others; to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch or a redeemed social condition; to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

*I want to note that I do not regret my educational choices. I had a fun major(s) with great people and experiences!

Leave a Reply

